East Asia and the Pacific

Standard

The area of the world that I chose was East Asia and the Pacific. I chose this area because some of the places listed happen to be beautiful places to vacation and I immediately thought that people may only know the beauty of these areas rather than some of the challenges.

Some of the challenges that children face in the Pacific Islands and in East Asia are unsafe water, poor sanitation, and hygiene issues including illnesses and infections.

Almost every day a Solomon Islander dies from a water, sanitation and hygiene related illness: Results from a recent survey show that 1 out of every 5 children under the age of five have had a skin or eye infection in the previous two weeks due to poor hygiene practices and lack of access to safe, clean water and a toilet.The related health risks of unsafe water and poor sanitation include nutritional deficiencies, diarrhea, worm infestations, respiratory infections, skin and eye infections. These preventable conditions and diseases can lead to poor attendance or attention at school, hindering their ability to learn and develop. Furthermore, lack of adequate water and toilets at schools de-motivate teachers and children from regular attendance (UNICEF, 2014).

I cannot begin to imagine experiencing these challenges as an adult, much less a child. When children are worried about their health and well being, they are unable to focus on the things that children should be focusing on- school and being a kid. Learning abut children suffering and not having food to eat and clean water to drink affects me both personally and professionally. From a personal standpoint, I feel for them as a parent and wish I could help. From a professional standpoint, I understand the consequences this has on their development mentally, emotionally, and physically.

About toteachistotouchlives

Hi. My name is Kristen Hammel and I am a first grade teacher in Maryland. I am in my fourth year of teaching and now beginning my Masters program in Early Childhood Education at Walden University. I am very excited for this new journey I am embarking on and am excited to share my experiences with you.

3 responses »

  1. Hi Kristen,

    It is shocking to realise what conditions children in different areas of the world have to live with, this assignment has made me more aware of the different influences that can be affecting children’s development and emotional well-being. Thank you for sharing your insights.

  2. It is very interest the reason you chose this area. I traveled to Jamaica, and found that the resorts were amazing with people eating and drinking to excess, however the people just outside the walls were starving and dealing with some serious injustices. These situations certainly would detract from healthy development and emotional well-being.

Leave a Reply

