Communicating with Children

Standard

Provide an account of your observation:
I was at my sons soccer game watching another parent interact with their child. The little girl wanted to go out into where the kids were playing soccer, wanted to play with the extra soccer balls, and wanted to keep leaving the room to get a drink from the water fountain.

Describe what you noticed and learned:
The little girls mom just kept telling her no. Then the little girl wanted to do those things even more. She would run out into the middle of the soccer game and mom had to go after her. Dad just stood there and watched mom do everything. Mom didn’t have anything for her to play with or to keep her busy but wanted her to sit on the ground with her. Mom had finally had her fill and told the girl that if she didn’t stop being bad she would be in trouble.

Make connections between what you observed and the effective communication strategies presented in this week’s learning resources. What could have been done to make the communication more affirming and effective:
In the video, the teacher interacted with the little girls in the video by speaking to them and asking them questions. She engaged them in conversation and let them experience their ideas. Children need to feel that and to be able to bring they are into the place they are. The mother of this little girl could have done the same thing. Engaging the little girl in a conversation about play or an imaginative scenario could have kept her busy and encouraged her to stay in one spot.

Share your thoughts with regard to how the communication interactions you observed may have affected the child’s feelings and/or any influences it may have had on the child’s sense of self worth:
The lack of positive communication may have affected the child’s feelings in a number of ways. The little girl was only trying to explore her surroundings and be a part of the game her big brother was playing. Her mother may have made her feel bad about herself by calling her “bad” and telling her “no” over and over again. Dad could have interacted with her as well. He could have attempted to start a conversation wit her and play with her.

Offer insights on how the adult-child communication you observed this week compares to the ways in which you communicate with the children. What have you learned about yourself this week with respect to how well you talk with and listen to young children? In what ways could you improve:
When I communicate with children, especially my own child, I talk to them. I explain why not rather than simply saying no. I encourage them to use their imagination and I play along. I think that listening is an area where I can improve. Typically in my own classroom, I have patience but there are times when it gets the best of me and I blow off certain things that children say. When you hear, “He took my pencil!!” or “I was sitting there first!” for the 300th time in one day it tends to make you more frustrated rather than patient. I realize how important it is to always have open and positive lines of communication with children and holding onto my patience is something that I know I need to work more on.

About toteachistotouchlives

Hi. My name is Kristen Hammel and I am a first grade teacher in Maryland. I am in my fourth year of teaching and now beginning my Masters program in Early Childhood Education at Walden University. I am very excited for this new journey I am embarking on and am excited to share my experiences with you.

3 responses »

    • If this were my child, I would have engaged him in some type of play. I also talk to my child rather than tell him no. We explain why or why not something can or ban not happen and we give him understanding. It is important for him to understand why he can’t do something rather than to just hear the word no over and over again. Because of this I believe, is the reason we have such a level headed four year old. He knows why eh shouldn’t do things and he doesn’t test those limits.

  1. Enjoyed your post Kristen!
    I would also talk to them and let them use their imigination when dealing with communication. I agree the little girl only wanted to explore her surrounding, but there is so much happening in our society, I would be scared to take my eyes off of her. As educators, we need to be able to influence our children, because they can and will be affected by their surroundings; good and bad.

Leave a Reply

