The setting of my Family Child Care

Standard

An anti-bias environment invites exploration and discovery, and supports children’s play and conversations in both emergent and planned activities. A culturally consistent environment is important for children and their families and therefore the look and sounds of the environment should reflect the families cultures and daily lives. In my family child care home I would begin with posters and pictures that include the cultures, genders, and races of the children and families but also those that are not a part of the program. Books in the “library” that represent the cultures and daily life of the families are another way to supports the cultures of children and families. This includes cultures, race, age, family structures, economic groups, holidays that are celebrated by my families, and gender. I would love to create a template for a “Book about me” for each family to put together including pictures, that can then be used in the library for each child in the program to enjoy and learn from. There are a number of photo shops that can turn photos into puzzles. I would, with families permission, have puzzles made that the children can play with. It is important to talk to families about what games and sports their child enjoys and to have games and toys for them to play with that reflect their interests.

I love the idea of hanging pictures of the things that we are doing each day for families to enjoy when they pick their child up. This is a way to involves the families in what we are doing all day. I would also include pictures of the children playing and learning all around the room. Ideally, I would like to two have separate areas for the children. One room that would be the quiet room. This is where the children would nap and also place for them to cool down if they are upset. The main room for the center will be set up in an open environment. the carpet that we sit on for circle time in the middle of the room, surrounded by the toys, tables, games, comfortable couches, and snack tables. Everything is together because I like the idea of children still feeling like they are together even though they may be in different sections of the room playing with different things. They can all still see each other. There will be a section that would have the toys for the younger children and the toys for the older children would be separate but still in the same large room to encourage the togetherness.

About toteachistotouchlives

Hi. My name is Kristen Hammel and I am a first grade teacher in Maryland. I am in my fourth year of teaching and now beginning my Masters program in Early Childhood Education at Walden University. I am very excited for this new journey I am embarking on and am excited to share my experiences with you.

2 responses »

  1. I am a little confused as to why you did not answer any of the questions. Where would you chose to put your Family Child Care Home and why?

  2. Hi Kristen,

    I enjoyed reading your post and I like how you mention the importance of a culturally consistent environment. If children feel at home in their educational setting they are likely to achieve more than if they feel like they are in a completely different or uncomfortable environment. Your idea to create a ‘book about me’ would be a fantastic way for children to learn about the different cultures represented in the center and would help them to appreciate each other, great idea! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

