Final Post- Class #8

Standard

One hope that I have as I think about families and children who come from diverse backgrounds is that at some point there will hopefully come a time when courses in diversity will not be necessary. I hope that one day, people from all walks of life, all colors, and all sexual orientations feel like they belong. It seems to be a long time away but it is my hope that at some point this is where we end up.

The goal I would like to set for the field of early childhood in terms of diversity, equity, and social justice is that all early childhood educators are educated on what it means to have an anti-bias classroom. This should be something that is a part of all early childhood training and education. Not something learned or a course/program taken by choice. What I have learned through this program would benefit all educators- not just those in the early childhood field.

I would like to thank all of my colleagues for their insight, opinions, and support. It has been wonderful getting to know all of you and connecting through our blogs and discussions. I wish you all the best! Hope to “see” you all in our next class.

About toteachistotouchlives

Hi. My name is Kristen Hammel and I am a first grade teacher in Maryland. I am in my fourth year of teaching and now beginning my Masters program in Early Childhood Education at Walden University. I am very excited for this new journey I am embarking on and am excited to share my experiences with you.

3 responses »

  1. Hi Kristen,
    I really liked your comment about how the information that was presented in this class regarding anti-bias education would be appropriate for all teachers to learn. I think it is important that children be exposed to anti-bias classroom and childcare settings early on; however, it is imperative for children to feel safe in their educational environment throughout their schooling. Anti-bias education can definitely have a significant impact of how a child perceives him or herself at all levels of schooling. Thanks for your insights over the last two months.
    Sharon

  2. Hi Kristen,
    I like your hope of anti-bias education not existing anymore. I too hope it will not be necessary in the near future. This will be beneficial to everyone. I wish you well with your continued anti-bias studies.

    Brenda

  3. Hi Kristen,
    Nice post! I, too, like your idea of a diversity class not existing anymore! I do believe children should be exposed to diversity and anti-bias early in life in hopes to eliminate biases and prejudices. Good luck in the future!
    Jodi

Leave a Reply

