Team Development

Standard

In the “adjourning” stage the project is coming to an end and the team members are moving off into different directions. This stage looks at the team from the perspective of the well-being of the team rather than from the perspective of managing a team through the original four stages of team growth.The team leader should ensure that there is time for the team to celebrate the success of the project and capture best practices for future use. (Or, if it was not a successful project – to evaluate what happened and capture lessons learned for future projects.) This also provides the team the opportunity to say good-bye to each other and wish each other luck as they pursue their next endeavor. It is likely that any group that reached Stage 4: Performing will keep in touch with each other as they have become a very close knit group and there will be sadness at separating and moving on to other projects independently (Abudi, 2010. NP).

My college cohort was difficult to leave. It was difficult to leave because we had such a strong connection with each other. Our entire group was a very positive and supportive group of people working together. We had positive communication with one-another as well as those who we communicated with outside of our intended cohort ie: teachers, etc.

I believe that high performing groups are the most difficult to leave because the groups that perform well often are the ones where relationships have been formed. You work well together and end up emotional when the group parts ways. My cohort was difficult to leave but we do keep in touch. Another group I found difficult to leave was the group of people I worked with for ten years in high school and college at the Outback Steakhouse. One of the closing rituals I have experienced in both of these groups was a celebration of the ending of it. We would go out, celebrate the time we shared together, talk, laugh , and then go our separate ways. I have also experienced “reunions” in such groups. Both my cohort and my special group of coworkers at the Outback have had random get-togethers so that we can see each other.

I imagine that adjourning from my group of collegues for grad school won’t be as difficult as other groups I have been a part of. I have taken several breaks between classes because my county of employment only reimburses for 3 classes per calendar year. Therefore I have not taken my classes with the same group of people throughout. Here and there I have had some of my classmates in other classes but not often. I also think this is different because although I communicate with my collegues through my discussions and blog posts, I have not formed actual relationships with many of my collegues as I normally would in a typical classroom setting.

This is an important stage in the team building process as it is a chance to reflect and celebrate your successes. And likewise, if the group was unsuccessful, it is a chance to reflect on why it didn’t work and what could be done to be more successful in the future.

Abudi, G. (2010). The five stages of team development: A case study. Retrieved from http://www.projectsmart.co.uk/the-five-stages-of-team-development-a-case-study.html

About toteachistotouchlives

Hi. My name is Kristen Hammel and I am a first grade teacher in Maryland. I am in my fourth year of teaching and now beginning my Masters program in Early Childhood Education at Walden University. I am very excited for this new journey I am embarking on and am excited to share my experiences with you.

One response »

  1. It is definitely difficult to leave a working group you have gotten accustomed to and with whom you have established trust and respect. I truly think that even though in this course I don’t get to see and really know each one of my classmates, I believe I will certainly miss the discussions and that sense of belonging to a group where common interests are shared.

Leave a Reply

