Conflict

Standard

I have had a conflict at work over the last few years with a coworker. I am actually one of many who have this issue with him and no one is really sure how to handle it. He is very controlling and wants to have his way. He will run to the principal to get whatever he wants (which he typically is successful at) and will also run to the principal with complaints or problems with other coworkers that get blown out of proportion in his favor. We are not able to discuss this with our principal because he defends him.

I believe that this is one of those conflicts that will never actually be resolved as his behaviors continue to be enabled by our principal but some of the ways that we as his coworkers can deal with it are as follows. Compromising with him about specific things would typically be a suggestion I would offer but he would just run to the principal and get his way despite any compromise that was attempted. I think the best way to handle his is the escapist strategy. Ideally he is getting what he wants with this strategy. But by letting him have it without any type of attempt not to let him have it, saves you from the conflict that will arise later when he runs to the principal and he gets what he wants anyway. This also saves you the conflict that may occur involving you and the principal because of him going to him to complain.

Does anyone have any suggestions on how this can be solved?

About toteachistotouchlives

Hi. My name is Kristen Hammel and I am a first grade teacher in Maryland. I am in my fourth year of teaching and now beginning my Masters program in Early Childhood Education at Walden University. I am very excited for this new journey I am embarking on and am excited to share my experiences with you.

Leave a Reply

