Who am I as a communicator?

Standard

For your blog this week, think about the similarities and differences between how you evaluated yourself as a communicator and how others evaluated you. What is the one thing that surprised you the most? Why? What other insights about communication did you gain this week? Choose at least two to share with others through your blog and consider how each might inform your professional work and personal life.

I evaluated myself very similar to how others evaluated me. We all said that I am empathetic and concerned with the emotions of others, but tend to be very trusting of others. We agreed that I maintain a good balance between respect and consideration for others viewpoints and the ability argue fairly by attacking facts. The only thing we did not agree on was on the subject of communication anxiety. I said that I have mild anxiety but both my friend and husband said I was very comfortable communicating in most situations. I was surprised by this at first but upon thinking about it I realized that it was a good thing that they thought I was very comfortable. It means that I do a good job of not showing that fear when I speak because no one else has picked up on it. After the surveys were completed and reviewed, my husband, friend and I were talking about them because I felt that they were so similar to mine that I wanted to ask them some questions. Both my husband and myself said that I tend to be a bit bossy when I talk to others in a non-professional setting. I attribute this to my “teacher” personality. I used to think that I was cognizant of the situation I am in and who is around when I speak but my husband says that I often make faces that look like I am giving people dirty looks. I was surprised by this so I had him let me know the next time he noticed it. He did and I realized that the faces I was making was actually me squinting my eyes because I can’t see very far away without my glasses on! My friend said that I am very direct and honest. I thought that I was honest but sugar coated a bit more than she seems to think I do. I was actually surprised by this at first but upon thinking about what she said, she is probably correct. I think I am a bit more direct than I used to be and it makes sense that she would say that.

Something I learned about this week was undue influence which is when someone gives greater credibility or importance to something they shouldn’t. This plays a part in my professional work because it is important that I distinguish between important and unimportant things as I speak to families about their children. I also learned about self concept this week. Self concept is the awareness and understanding of who you are-as interpreted and influenced by your thoughts, actions, abilities, values, goals, and ideas. You develop a self concept by thinking about your strengths and weaknesses, by observing your own behavior, and witnessing your own reactions to situations (O’Hair & Wiemann, 2012). It is important that you have a self concept because this gives you awareness of yourself and your own communication skills. It allows you to evaluate how you communicate so that you can be cognizant of the situations you are communicating in.

About toteachistotouchlives

Hi. My name is Kristen Hammel and I am a first grade teacher in Maryland. I am in my fourth year of teaching and now beginning my Masters program in Early Childhood Education at Walden University. I am very excited for this new journey I am embarking on and am excited to share my experiences with you.

3 responses »

  1. Kristen,

    I just laughed about you squinting your eyes! I do the same thing too and my husband always tells me I make too many facial expressions when I talk, though I considered myself as a neutral face maker. This is true about what they say that we perceive ourselves one way and the other people perceive us in other way.

  2. Kristen, I enjoyed reading your blog this week. I too don’t realize my facial expressions effect my communication. This can often lead to unintentional communication errors. Do you have any ideas on how to overcome this?

Leave a Reply

