Devious Maids

Standard

I found a show on Lifetime network that I have never watched before called Devious Maids.

There were many characters in this show so my main focus of this assignment was the maids and two couples in particular. One of the couples seemed to me to be either a divorced couple or a unhappily married couple. They did not smile at one another or touch one another in any way. The woman/wife seemed to be angry at the man/husband most of the time she spoke to him.

The second couple seemed to be married but not seemingly happy. They did not smile at each other either. They had a baby boy with whom there was not much interaction with. The maid had more interaction with him than mom or dad.

The maids all seemed to be friends except for one of them. The one who did not look like she was friends with the others looked like she was up to something or being sneaky. None of them seemed to enjoy their job.

After watching the show over again, this time with sound I realized that the assumptions I made about the couples being unhappy, the maids being friends, and the one maid being up to something were all correct. It happens that this shows non-verbal communication was very accurate to what was going on in the show. One of the maids did in fact seem to enjoy her job but for the wrong reasons. She was trying to get her employer to listen to her music record. She had ulterior motives.

About toteachistotouchlives

Hi. My name is Kristen Hammel and I am a first grade teacher in Maryland. I am in my fourth year of teaching and now beginning my Masters program in Early Childhood Education at Walden University. I am very excited for this new journey I am embarking on and am excited to share my experiences with you.

2 responses »

  1. Kristien, I enjoyed reading your blog. I too found that my assumptions of the show were correct. Did you have any ahh moments that you feel would be important to mention?

  2. It is funny how nonverbal communication definitely changes appreciation and how it trick us. It was also very enjoyable for me to determine what type of affection the characters had. Physical proximity is also a nonverbal communication that is used by everyone.

Leave a Reply

