Final Post

Standard

I hope that more people can begin to appreciate the things they can learn from children and families who come from diverse backgrounds. There is so much we can learn from them.

In conjunction with that, one goal that I have for the field of early childhood is that we will remember that it is not just what they are doing for us, it’s about what we are doing for them. We need to be proactive in training teachers on Diversity. It should not just be a major that one decides to pursue for their Masters Degree. It is important that all educators are aware of these diverse backgrounds and are trained in the most effective ways to create a healthy, supportive, environment for these children and families.

Thank you everyone for your support and comments this semester. I have enjoyed reading about your experiences and thoughts on diversity. I have learned a lot from each of you and I wish you the best of luck in your future endeavours. I hope to see you in another class!

About toteachistotouchlives

Hi. My name is Kristen Hammel and I am a first grade teacher in Maryland. I am in my fourth year of teaching and now beginning my Masters program in Early Childhood Education at Walden University. I am very excited for this new journey I am embarking on and am excited to share my experiences with you.

6 responses »

  1. Hello!
    I really do hope people begin to value others no matter their cultural background. I agree that their is so much to learn from each other. It was a pleasure having you as a colleague. Good Luck!

  2. Noemi, I love how you bring up that we need to teach and advocate for children and families. We so need to train teachers to become the best that they can be with a focus on diversity. To be able to understand fully what a diverse community consists of, we can create a whole new society of aware individuals.

  3. I believe that we have been blessed to work with children. When I think about children, I enjoy the way they remind me of a world where I speak with honesty and innocence, where i can express all my ideas without being self-interested. They also remind me those teachers who taught me to love humanity.

  4. I liked that your hope was that people learn to appreciate what they can lean from children and families from diverse backgrounds. I especially hope that people recognize that they can learn from the children. I feel that often times people outside of the education field do not value what children say nor do they realize that it is possible for adults to learn valuable lessons from children.

    Best of luck to you in the future!

  5. I agree with you completely that we need more thorough training for early childhood educators. I have found this especially true when it comes to assistant teachers. As a certified teacher, I have a lot of trainings and continuing education opportunities and obligations. This is not the case for assistants. I think that everyone working in the early childhood field should receive training in anti-bias edcuation, as well as some other training. I also find that, depending on where you do your undergrad, the quality of teacher training is very different. I think that universities should have higher standards for their teacher training as well.

    It has been great sharing with you throughout the several classes we have had together. It would be great to see your name of another class roster! Either way, good luck with your future endeavors.
    :)Jen

  6. You made a great point. Teacher training is essential to addressing issues concerning diversity. In our diverse world, this is a crucial topic in order to make sure we are providing the very best for our children. Many educators want to address issues concerning diversity, but are not sure how to go about it.

Leave a Reply

