Culturally Responsiveness

Standard

 

  • The name of “your” family’s country of origin

South Korea

  • At least five ways in which you will prepare yourself to be culturally responsive towards this family

I will purchase some books on learning Korean and I will study and learn about the Korean family values, Korean educational values, and Korean celebrations and holidays. I will also study and understand the Concept of Kibun. Kibun is a word with no literal English translation; the closest terms are pride, face, mood, feelings, or state of mind. If you hurt someone’s kibun you hurt their pride, cause them to lose dignity, and lose face. Korean interpersonal relationships operate on the principle of harmony. It is important to maintain a peaceful, comfortable atmosphere at all times, even if it means telling a “white lie”. Kibun enters into every facet of Korean life. It is important to know how to judge the state of someone else’s kibun, how to avoid hurting it, and how to keep your own kibun at the same time.

  • A brief statement describing in what ways you hope that these preparations will benefit both you and the family?

I hope that in preparing myself with learning about their language, it will allow me to communicate with them if English is not easily understood by them. Also, in learning about the concept of Kibun and the Korean educational values, I will be able to understand behaviors that may occur with-in the classroom concerning this specific child. In understanding the Korean family culture, I will be able to address the family appropriately without offending anyone. The father is the head of the household and when having conferences where both parents are in attendance, I should speak directly to the father. Understanding their celebrations and holidays will allow me to be understanding and supportive of absences due to such celebrations as well as showing that I have respect for their culture. Showing that I have taken interest in understanding their culture will show the family that I have good intentions and am willing to be understanding and accepting of differences.

 

 

 

About toteachistotouchlives

Hi. My name is Kristen Hammel and I am a first grade teacher in Maryland. I am in my fourth year of teaching and now beginning my Masters program in Early Childhood Education at Walden University. I am very excited for this new journey I am embarking on and am excited to share my experiences with you.

3 responses »

  1. I didn’t realize how significant this assignment was until I began commenting on others responses. Thinking about what I’ve written and what I will read from others. This is something that will speak to all of us years down the road. Anti-bias education and developing children is more that working with them or learning about what makes the happy. It’s about taking the time to understand the whole child, not the surface culture. I can find out about surface culture by just looking at someone. To understand deep culture I have to ask questions, look deeper and form a relationship with the family and everything that child is made up of. That is what makes successful, well rounded children who grow up thanking their teachers and appreciating mistakes. These are the same kids if we do this right who will accept others as well. Great assignment

  2. Definitely understanding and supporting the cultural traits of immigrants is a great way to be culturally responsive, but don’t you think that there are some cultures that confine women to lesser roles in society, and by supporting these cultural traits we could be supporting sexism unconsciously? For example, when I was raised (in Guatemala) there was a strong patriarchal tradition where women were pushed to stay at home or be quiet when men talked. I have heard stories about women who were devalued in their countries of origin and now they live in this country, and feel more valued because they are respected and seen as equal as men.

  3. I like that you mentioned the concept of Kibun and the importance of finding out what it is that would hurt another’s Kibun and trying not to do that. I think it is very important when dealing with other cultures that we find out what it is that is respectful/offensive to them, rather than assume that we should just treat them the way we would want to be treated. Although that has good intentions, it is not really respeciting another culture.

Leave a comment