Research Around The World

Standard

The site that I studied for research information was the Early Childhood site for Austrailia. The link to access is: http://www.earlychildhoodaustralia.org.au/

The section where I found the research infornation for Austrailia was titled RIPS. The Research in Practice Series (RIPS) is a resource, offering effective new approaches for those challenging issues which arise in the care and education of young children.

Two of the current international research topics I found on the website were learning and teaching through play and prevention and resolution of bullying. These two topics in particular are two things that we have in common with Austrailia. These are topics of research here in America as well.  I was not able to click on any of the RIPS articles because they needed to be purchased in order to be viewed but through the titles of the RIPS there are many common research topics that we share with Austrailia.

Some noteworthy information I found is that many of the ideas and information involving early childhood are similar to those here in the states.

About toteachistotouchlives

Hi. My name is Kristen Hammel and I am a first grade teacher in Maryland. I am in my fourth year of teaching and now beginning my Masters program in Early Childhood Education at Walden University. I am very excited for this new journey I am embarking on and am excited to share my experiences with you.

3 responses »

  1. I also researched in Australia and found that teaching through play was a big part of their research right now. This also goes along with discovery learning which is what the States are pushing forward with as well with the common core curriculum. I was also surprised to see the correlation between the United States and Australia’s education system. It will be nice to discuss with other countries the results that they are finding since the “hot topics” are the same in both countries.

  2. Very good post! Play is a big part of all children’s play, so this is something I feel this is cool that they are teaching through play. you are right learning through play and bullying are two we have in common with Australia. Bullying is a big one in the United States we as educators need to try change the bullying in our children. This is a site I want to explore as well.

  3. Kristen, I chose the same web site and I enjoyed the information on the challengs which arise in the care, and education of young children. Learning and teaching through play is very good and our program uses the polices of play in our lesson plan every day. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a comment