Consequences of Learning About Early Childhood in Great Britain

Standard

One of the consequences of learning about early childhood in Great Britain is that I learned about issues that we experience similar to the early childhood programs there. This gave me the chance to read about how they handled such issues compared to what we do here in each individual state. I learned a lot about the issues and trends affecting us as well as other countries.

Another consequence of learning about Early Childhood in Great Britain was that I was able to read about many of the organizations they have that support the Early Childhood Field. These could be used in a similar fashion here in the United States and could very easily, through the website, be shared with the appropriate people here.

I learned that teaching has its challenges no matter where you teach. No matter what country, state, county, we experience similar things. It helped me to read that other countries were having similar experiences and that it wasn’t only us. Not that I wish challenges on anyone else but it was comforting to know that it’s happening to others too. It isn’t just me.

My goal for the field of Early Childhood education is to continue to reach out and educate people on the importance of early childhood education. People need to know and understand that what we do is important and deserves to be acknowledged as a professional occupation.

About toteachistotouchlives

Hi. My name is Kristen Hammel and I am a first grade teacher in Maryland. I am in my fourth year of teaching and now beginning my Masters program in Early Childhood Education at Walden University. I am very excited for this new journey I am embarking on and am excited to share my experiences with you.

2 responses »

  1. Hi Kristen,
    It was very interesting to learn all about the issues and challenges that other countries face when dealing with the early childhood field. It’s amazing how every country does things differently and how each country appreciates children and child care centers differently as well. I like that you mentioned that every teacher has challenges and teaching is not always peachy. This is something that recently caught my attention as well. I’ve come to the same realization that teaching will have it’s good days and bad just like any other profession but that definitely makes me want to teach even more! I’m always up for the challenge. I am so glad we had this class together. I have learned a lot from you! Best of luck to you!

  2. Hi Kristen,
    I also like learning about challenges that others are facing. It reminds me that I am not alone and also that I can reach out for support when I need it. Teaching is a very challenging profession, both professionally and personally. Learning that there are issues we face that make it challeging for everyone also lets me know that I am not the problem. Sometimes I can start to feel like it’s just that I’m not good enough at what I do; that it’s something I’m doing or not doing that makes it so difficult. This reminds me that the nature of the profession is what makes it difficult and that I do need to make sure I’m taking good care of myself and making use of resources and reflective opportunities.

Leave a Reply

