Sharing Web Resources

Standard
  • What specific section(s) or information seemed particularly relevant to your current professional development?

On the website that I have chosen to study I found an article about children and technology. You can find this article here: http://www.early-education.org.uk/sites/default/files/publications/Young%20children%20and%20technology%20%2813%29.pdf . I found this article to be particularly relevant to my current professional development because we are current living in and out children are growing up in a very technological world. There are many types of technology that are used in classrooms that were unheard of when I was in school. Children often know better how to use such technology than the teachers do. It is important that teachers learn as much as they can so that they can offer their students the best education possible, including technology.

  • Which ideas/statements/resources, either on the website or in an e-newsletter, did you find controversial or made you think about an issue in new ways?

I did not find anything that I felt controversial about or even anything that made me think in new ways. What I did find was something that helped deepen my knowledge of children and the changes they experience. It did not occur to me that many of the things that children experience as milestones can me difficult for them to experience. The changes can make them uneasy…from the simplest things like crawling and walking to the big things like going to school.  You can find this article here: http://www.early-education.org.uk/sites/default/files/publications/Helping%20children%20cope%20with%20change%20%284%29.pdf .

  • What information does the website or the e-newsletter contain that adds to your understanding of how economists, neuroscientists, or politicians support the early childhood field?

Drawing on the experiences and expertise of its members, as well as the thousands of others working in early childhood education, Early Education regularly engages with and responds to government consultations, initiatives and legislation, and work with other early education stakeholders to make their voice stronger. They also meet with key decision makers within government to influence change, undertake original research, and campaign publicly on issues facing early childhood education practitioners.

  • What other new insights about issues and trends in the early childhood field did you gain from exploring the website or e-newsletter?

One of this programs projects, the Newham Outdoors project sought to both inform and inspire schools and settings in Newham (Newham is a unique borough and the most diverse place in the country. It has the youngest population in the United Kingdom.  Although Newham is an urban London local authority, children and families are never more than 10 minutes walk away from a green space) and beyond, to see the potential of using the outdoor environment to nurture children’s social and emotional development and communication skills.

About toteachistotouchlives

Hi. My name is Kristen Hammel and I am a first grade teacher in Maryland. I am in my fourth year of teaching and now beginning my Masters program in Early Childhood Education at Walden University. I am very excited for this new journey I am embarking on and am excited to share my experiences with you.

3 responses »

  1. Kristen,
    thanks for sharing the information about the Newham Project. It sounds really unique and I would like to get more information about it. I am interested to see the results they come up with.

  2. Hi there! I am also interested in the Newham Project. It does sound great! Would love to have a place where the children could go and explore and maybe have a garden they could harvest and such.

    Thanks,
    Cortnee 🙂

  3. The Newham Project sounds very interesting. I am definitely going to be doing some more research into it. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

