Establishing Professional Contacts and Expanding Resources

Standard

I began this project by searching for professional early childhood organizations that I could contact. I contacted The Early Childhood Association of Australia (http://www.earlychildhoodaustralia.org.au/)  and the British Association for Early Childhood Education (http://www.early-education.org.uk/), by finding the organizations main contact information and sending an email. I informed them of who I was and why I was contacting. I have not yet heard from either of them but I look forward to establishing contact with two colleagues that I can talk to and learn from. I chose these two organizations because Australia is a place that has always interested me and I am curious how similar and different their early childhood system is run, and because my family is from England and although I am sure it is very different now, my grandfather grew up there and I am curious as to how their system differs from ours. When I noticed that the newsletter for the British Association for Early Childhood Education was listed in our class resource for this part of our assignment, I immediately decided to study this website. I chose this site because as I previously said, my family is from England and I am very interested to learn about the field of Early Childhood Education there.

My contact attempts have yet to show success so I have no helpful hints as of yet but I am curious how successful my colleagues were with forming a partnership with a colleague from another country.  Could someone please share their experiences with me?

About toteachistotouchlives

Hi. My name is Kristen Hammel and I am a first grade teacher in Maryland. I am in my fourth year of teaching and now beginning my Masters program in Early Childhood Education at Walden University. I am very excited for this new journey I am embarking on and am excited to share my experiences with you.

2 responses »

  1. Hi Kristen! This blog assignment has been an experience but a good one! Like you, I also contacted some professionals from the resources that were given to us for week 1 and I have yet to hear a good reply from any of them. I took matters into my own hands and posted a note on my Facebook page and explained the assignment and asked if anyone was living outside of the US and who worked in the Early Childhood Field, I luckily got two replies. It would be very interesting to learn about the Early Childhood programs in Australia and England. You mentioned that your family is from England but have you ever been there? I wanted to let you know that in your blog post there is an advertisement video from you-tube. I clicked it to listen to it thinking that it was something to do with the assignment but it was just an advertisement that somehow got put into your blog so you might want to edit it and delete the code for that. I wish you the best and I hope someone of your interest contacts you. I’d sure be willing to learn more about the programs Australia and England offer and the comparisons to our Child Care programs here in the United States.

  2. Hi Kristen- I too have had a difficult time receiving any responses from the contacts that I wrote. I am hoping to receive a response by the middle of thew week. I also contacted professionals in the United Kingdom, and Australia, as well as a few others. Good Luck with your contacts. I look forward to reading what you find out. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

