support

Standard

I have a lot of different support systems in my life. My husband is an emotional support system. He encourages me when I frustrated and he listens to me when I need someone to talk to or just need someone to vent to. My mom and step father are a support system in many , many ways. They have supported me in making important decisions, they helped to monetarily support me as I finished my final semester of undergrad and was unable to work because I was student teaching, they support me emotionally as well. My friends have always been a support system as well. They are there for me whenever I needed someone. They too encourage me and emotionally support me. I think of support as encouragement and guidance.

Luckily I was blessed with a wonderful boyfriend when he found out I was pregnant, was very supportive. He was just as excited as I was. We had our son, got engaged 9 months later, and got married a year after that. I always wondered what it would be like had that notbeen the case. What if he had walked out? I would have needed a ton of support. Im sure my friends would be around for emotional support and to help me out. But my parents are the ones I would have needed the most support from. I imagine that I would have needed emotional support in many ways but also monetary support. We ask know that teachers don’t make much money and I would have needed help. I have to work. Therefore I would need daycare or family to help watch my son. That alone its a huge amount of monetary support. Daycare is expensive. I imagine that my support systems that I already have would be similar but much more magnified. I would be more dependent on others. I think if they were not there my life would be more stressful. It would run another and I might be a more effective mother if I had support.

About toteachistotouchlives

Hi. My name is Kristen Hammel and I am a first grade teacher in Maryland. I am in my fourth year of teaching and now beginning my Masters program in Early Childhood Education at Walden University. I am very excited for this new journey I am embarking on and am excited to share my experiences with you.

One response »

  1. You are very blessed indeed. I was just thinking this week about my financial situation as a teacher and, even though I have always wanted children, was thankful that I don’t have any right now. I can barely support myself, let alone a child. I would definitely need a lot of support. I have some friends who are single parents and I admire them for the committment and sacrifice it takes to make it work. I hope that someday I get to be in your position, with a loving, supportive husband to help me raise a family.

Leave a Reply

