When I think of child development…

Standard

“While we are busy teaching our children all about life, they are busy teaching us what life is all about.”

“A persons a person no matter how small.”

“We worry so much about what children will become, that we forget that they are someone today.”

About toteachistotouchlives

Hi. My name is Kristen Hammel and I am a first grade teacher in Maryland. I am in my fourth year of teaching and now beginning my Masters program in Early Childhood Education at Walden University. I am very excited for this new journey I am embarking on and am excited to share my experiences with you.

5 responses »

  1. Kristen,

    Thank you so much for all the insights you shared via your blog and discussion postings throughout this course. I have enjoyed reading each and every posting and getting to know you via you postings. I hope we can continue to “attend” classes together in the future. Best of luck to you!

  2. I think these quotes are very true…..just having the experiences with your students teaches you even more about a certain topic. Thanks a bunch for your ideas and support.

  3. Kristen,

    I like these quotes – especially the last one. I think that currently we are spending so much time on preparing children for what they will have in school, preparing them to do this and that, that they do not get time to just be kids. We forget the importance of play. Also, kids are expecetd to know and be capable of increasing amounts of abilities at increasingly younger ages.

    Thank you for your great contribution!
    Amy

  4. I love that you used a Dr. Suess quote as one of your quotes! Childhood and Dr. Seuss go hand and hand so using one of his quotes for this assignment is perfect in my opnion. I also agree that many times adults focus so much on making sure children are prepared for the future they miss out on the current times with children whether it is their own children or the children they teach. Someone once told me about “kid quotes” or the funny little things children say and as adults we need to remember to take the time to listen to these “kid quotes” and appreciate children at each stage in life rather than rush them through childhood and onto adulthood. One of my favorite “kid quotes” came from a kindergartener during my student teaching internship. The class was walking down the hall to lunch and I was at the end of the line and my mentor teacher was at the front of the line. A student near the end of the line tripped and hit his mouth on the back of the child in front of him. Since the nurse’s office is on the way to the cafeteria I had the injured student make a quick stop at the nurse’s office for ice. While we were making this quick stop the rest of the class arrived at lunch and when my mentored realized that she was short a student she asked the class what happened to which a student responded “oh Ms. Reith took whoever to the nurse because he threw up his tonsils after falling.”

Leave a Reply

