Examining Codes of Ethics

Standard

I-1.1- To be familiar with the knowledge base of childhood care and education and to stay informed through continuing education and training.

This is significant to my professional life because I am currently doing this through Walden University. Although as a professional in the education field, we are required to continue our education, it is also something that I am interested in doing. I love to learn more about my field and apply the new things I am learning.

 

 

I-1.5- To create and maintain safe and healthy settings that foster children’s social, emotional, cognitive, and physical development and that respect their dignity and their contributions.

This ideal is significant to my professional life because I as an early childhood teacher I know how important it is to create an environment for children to feel safe. At the school I teach at we have students who really need to feel safe at school because it is the only place that they do feel safe. I strive to create a place that my students want to come back to every day.

I-1.10- To ensure that each child’s culture, language, ethnicity, and family structure are recognized and valued in the program.

I am always careful to respect my students cultures and beliefs in my classroom. Our school has a large population of Jehovah’s Witnesses. I have educated myself about how they practice religion and I am sure not to make them participate in something they shouldn’t.  I always make sure I call my students parents and ask how they would like me to handle holidays. They all usually agree to the same thing: Their child is allowed top learn about the holidays that other cultures and religions celebrate but they are not allowed to celebrate them. When we learn about such holidays we usually do an activity to go with it and I alter the activity for my Jehovah’s Witness students. On Monday when my students learn about Hanukkah,   they will make stained glass menorah’s but my Jehovah’s Witness students will make stained glass animals.

About toteachistotouchlives

Hi. My name is Kristen Hammel and I am a first grade teacher in Maryland. I am in my fourth year of teaching and now beginning my Masters program in Early Childhood Education at Walden University. I am very excited for this new journey I am embarking on and am excited to share my experiences with you.

3 responses »

  1. I too have had students that come from different backgrounds and have met with families or called them to discuss their religious backgrounds to ensure that my students do not participate in any activities/events that they shouldn’t. As teachers we often administer accomodations on testing and/ or assignments for students with special needs but we need to remember that these modifications can also be used so students with different backgrounds can complete projects they might otherwise miss out on. Sounds like you have a fun lesson planned for your students on Monday!

  2. In what ways will you make your student’s environment safe? In what ways to do you strive to make your students want to come back everyday? I don’t know much about religion- in what ways do Jehovah witnesses practice religion- what do they believe in? Since you have a lot of students with a specific religion- is the whole class participating in activities based on that religion or do the Jehovah Witnesses do certain activities while the other students do other things? What types of lesson plans do you create for your students? Have you ever had a parent upset that religion type based activities and assignments were given in your class? How do you deal with upset parents?

  3. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and insights with me throughout this course. I have learned a lot about you and your beautiful family through your postings. Each week I looked forward to reading your blog as it seems as if we come from similar teaching environments so I knew you would have insights in which I could relate. Your passion for teaching shines through your entries and there is no doubt that you are giving 110% of yourself to your students day in and day out. I wish you all the best as you continue on your educational journey and in life!

Leave a Reply

