Words of Inspiration and Motivation

Standard

There are a number of  quotes/excerpts that I find motivational and inspirational. Here are a few of them:

“The African proverb “It takes a village to raise a child” summed up for me the commonplace conclusion that, like it or not, we are living in an interdependent world where what our children hear, see, feel, and learn will affect how they grow up and who they turn out to be. The five years since 9/11 have reinforced one of my main points: How children are raised anywhere can impact our lives and our children’s futures.” -Hillary Clinton (Source: 2006 intro to It Takes A Village, by H. Clinton, p. xii Dec 12, 2006)

“We all depend on adults whom we know and on those we may not to help us inform, support, or protect our children. In the last ten years, science has proven how resilient children can be despite great obstacles. And that’s where other adults may step in, to help nurture children and to provide positive role models.” – Hillary Clinton (Source: 2006 intro to It Takes A Village, by H. Clinton, p. xii Dec 12, 2006)

“In this book and my autobiography, Living History, I wrote about my own mother’s difficult childhood. Abandoned by her teenage parents, mistreated by her grandparents, she was forced to go work as a mother’s helper when she was thirteen. Caring for another family’s younger children while attending high school may sound harsh, but the experience of living in a strong, loving family gave my mother the tools she would need later when caring for her own home and children…Learning about my mother’s childhood sparked my strong conviction that every child deserves a chance to live up to her God-given potential and that we should never quit on any child.” -Hillary Clinton (Source: 2006 intro to It Takes A Village, by H. Clinton, p. xii Dec 12, 2006)

“As a teacher I feel that we teachers are pushed to spend every minute in the classroom on academic rigor and the need for play is pushed aside.” -Elena Bodrova (The First Years of School by: E. Bodrova, April 2003 | Volume 60 | Number 7,   Pages 50-53)

“With the right approach, a plain white hat and a plate full of yarn spaghetti can contribute to a young child’s cognitive development.” -Elena Bodrova (The First Years of School by: E. Bodrova, April 2003 | Volume 60 | Number 7,   Pages 50-53)

I love the excerpts above. They are so, so true! After learning about how family and relationships affect children’s development and about significant contributors to the early childhood education field, in my current graduate class at Walden University, I had to post them! And I LOVE the attitude of Elena Bodrova’s last quote!

” I wanted to be a teacher because I had a built-in passion that it was important to make a real contribution in the world and to fix all the injustices in the world. And I wanted to do that through teaching.” – Louise Derman-Sparks (The Passion for Early Childhood)

” I think first and foremost my passion comes from intrinsic motivation that I have for the work that I do. Everyday I got o work, I look forward to it because I know that the services I am providing to children, it’s to their benefit. It isn’t anything that’s going to benefit me. It’s going to benefit them. ” – Raymond Hernandez MS ed. (The Passion for Early Childhood Education)

” Working intently with families was almost like earning a doctorate. Every year there was always a specific challenge…and I had to meet it. I’ve always felt like I’ve owed the families the best.” – Renatta M. Cooper (The Passion for Early Childhood)

About toteachistotouchlives

Hi. My name is Kristen Hammel and I am a first grade teacher in Maryland. I am in my fourth year of teaching and now beginning my Masters program in Early Childhood Education at Walden University. I am very excited for this new journey I am embarking on and am excited to share my experiences with you.

3 responses »

  1. I agree with what Elena Bodrova said, that we spend too much time pushing the academics and forgtting how important play is for the children. If we as teachers set up the environment in such a way that children are leaning through thier play they will be happy and enjoy school. If we have them start to early with sitting and making them write when they are not ready then school will not be fun. We all need to go out and squish some mud, or build a fort out of bamboo sticks. Now that’s fun pre-writing and math.

  2. I have heard the quote ““It takes a village to raise a child” before and this quote to me means that it takes two parents to raise a child and every child deserves a Mother and a Father. It’s also wonderful if the child has a big family to be raised around. Every person that a child comes in contact with sure does make an impact on that child’s life and the person he/she will become. As much as I agree with the quote by Elena Bodrova ““As a teacher I feel that we teachers are pushed to spend every minute in the classroom on academic rigor and the need for play is pushed aside” I also disagree too! If you walk into a preschool you will 99.9% of the time see your child playing- not learning. In a lot of cases this quote is not true. I think it really depends on the director of the school and the guidelines/rules he/she has and how much an education truly means to them. As a former preschool teacher, I always made sure to manage my time. My students had learning time and then there was play time which was important but also limited! Children learn a lot of what they know through play so it’s important that parents and role models don’t take play away from their children/students. If you’re creative like me you can always figure out ways to make play time educational!

  3. I loved your quote by Elena Bodrova about the plain white hat and plate full of yarn spaghetti as that is something all teachers know. The most unusual things can promote learning. Last year in my class we were learning about communities and shelters and we usually create blue prints for igloos then sequence the steps to build and igloo and finally build and igloo out of sugar cubes and royal frosting as a culminating lesson but in addition to this my class designed a town. We brainstormed buildings our town would need and to say I was impressed with their ideas would be an understatement. One of my students suggested a museum- we had never even discussed museams! Other building choices included a zoo, Chuck-E-Cheese, a mall, a dentist office, a hospital, a Wal-mart, a firestation, a police station, and various restaurants. We used various boxes (mini and large cereal boxes, boxed drink boxes, etc. and toliet paper rolls, foil, and strawberry containers) to create the buildings. What my students came up with was exactly what Elena Bodrova was discussing in her quote. My students made sure their buildings were accessible and added mor details then I could even image. It just goes to show you that “play” is a great learning tool and should never been seen as a negative thing!

Leave a Reply

